I trust…

I recently received a weekly post from Poets & Writers.  It included a poetry prompt and a book recommendation.

It also included this:

WRITERS RECOMMEND
 

If you’re looking for more inspiration, visit Writers Recommend, our online feature in which writers reveal the habits that keep them writing. This week’s installment comes from Bao Phi, author of Thousand Star Hotel (Coffee House Press, 2017).

“That blank page is there waiting for me to jump in, to sink or swim. I end up flailing about and not knowing what I’m doing. But I trust it’s all part of the process. I trust that…”
It was that repetition of “I trust,” that got me to thinking, do I really trust my writing?
What do I trust about it?
Do I trust when I sit down with a blank page and begin to write that something interesting is going to happen?  Do I trust that my words are going to be significant?  That they will be worth the time or in a little way important?  The only thing I trust is that whatever I write, it will need re-writing, revision,and a great lot of editing.
These days, I can’t even trust that the pen I pick up to write with is going to work.
I guess you could say I have trust issues because when I sit down to write, I never know where I’m going to end up. I never know where my writing is going to take me.  That is where the fun resides for me.
My writing is goulash, a mesh-mash of flavors and textures.  It requires a lot of refining to achieve something edible or sustainable.  My only hope is that with practice, I will get better.
What about you?  Do you have trust issues too?
One thought on “I trust…

Leave a Reply

