YOU’RE OK

I do believe in karma, fate, and serendipity. Recently I had a book jump off of my too crowded bookshelf begging to be re-read. A convenient sized little paperback, “Zen and the Art of Writing,” by Ray Bradbury. ©1999.

It has been so long since I first read this book, it is like a whole new adventure and coming home at the same time. The first two words of the book are “Zest. Gusto.” Who doesn’t need a little more of that in their life? In their writing?

In his essay on How to Keep and Feed a Muse, Bradbury advises, “Read poetry every day of your life.” As a children’s poet, how can I not love a man with such understanding of the benefits of poetry?

In the essay Drunk, and in Charge of a Bicycle, Bradbury talks about a fan letter he received at 33 years of age. “I had my way of seeing, writing and living approved of by a man who became a second father to me.

I needed that approval. We all need someone higher, wiser, older to tell us we are not crazy after all, that what we are doing is all right. All right, hell, fine!” (p. 54)

Reading those words, it hit me. Yes, there was and there still are many times in my life when I need someone to tell me, it’s OK. I’m doing all right.

Looking back, I think the first time I heard those words, they came from Bee Cullinan at one of the Chautauqua Summer Writers Workshops. She encouraged me to write children’s poetry. Then, every workshop I have attended since, I have had other voices of encouragement. (David Harrison, Eileen Spinelli, Alice Schertle) That is what the Highlights writers workshops are all about–offering encouragement to one another.

Each time I come home from a Highlights event, I fall crazy, madly in love, all over again with the act of writing poetry for children. For me, life doesn’t get much better.

Who are the people in your life who tell you it is all right, you’re doing fine? Who makes you feel you’re OK?

Leave a Reply

