Ho-pe ole

I have a blog I write for children on it I include a poem a day with a daily challenge for kids to write their own poems.  http://www.poetryforkidsjoy.blogspot.com  Since I moved to Kauai in December, it has been difficult for me to keep up my daily routine.  But I keep trying to get back to my regular schedule.  I usually end the post with an inspirational message or some up-lifting quotation.

Lately, I’ve been thinking about adding a Hawaiian word before the quotation to help me learn the language of my new home.  I use A Dictionary of the Hawaiian Language by Lorrin Andrews. Yesterday as I was thumbing through the book, I was in the letter “H”.  I came across the word hope. In Hawaiian this would be pronounced ho (like a rake) pay (like a check.) This is a noun meaning the end or beginning of a thing; the termination of an extremity; the finishing result or termination of a course of conduct.

Hope can also mean the end of one’s life, death.  Hope ole means endless. Thus the circle of life is endless.

The word Hope in English translates into Hawaiian as manao lana.  The thing I think fascinating about this dictionary is that it links many of the words to Bible verses.  The verse for endless is Romans 9:18, and the verse for hope is Hebrews 9:26.

I have a friend who is writing a memoir about the death of her young daughter.  When I asked her about her writing, she mentioned she was writing the book to give hope to other families who have gone through the same thing.  As I was reading the dictionary and going back and forth to the Bible verses, it was like a light bulb went off for me.  My friend’s words slowly made more sense.  Having hope means death is a beautiful concept.

I hope if you are struggling with the death of someone you love that you’ll be able to find the hope in your life to carry yourself forward.

Blessings.

 

 

.

2 thoughts on “Ho-pe ole

Leave a Reply

