The BIG Move

If you didn’t know, over the Christmas holiday we moved to the island of Kauai.  I told my friends this move is probably the biggest project I have ever taken on.  All our possessions were loaded into a Matson shipping container and delivered to our new house.

The container was unloaded on Jan. 3 and 4.  Since then I have been unpacking boxes and boxes. My husband counted the boxes on Tuesday.

“There are still over 100 boxes to be emptied,” he told me.  So I keep opening and emptying boxes.  Then I flatten the cardboard to take to the recycling center.  So many boxes.

Today I stopped long enough to put some new blinds in the window where my desk sits.  This took the drill to make pilot holes for the screws.  My husband bought himself a new drill for Christmas, so I wasn’t exactly sure if I could, or how to use this one.  It took me a while to find the 1/16th drill bit the instructions recommended.  Sure wish I could have found the screw head for the drill so I could have used it to tighten the screws, but I didn’t.  I followed the directions to the letter, pausing several times to try and figure out the drawings that came with the blinds.  Each of the screws, 8 of them, had to be hand tightened with a phillips head screw driver.  This wasn’t exactly easy since I needed to apply pressure to the screws and did I mention I broke my wrist in Oct. at the start of our move?  It was painful trying to turn the screws and I had to take several breaks.  Maybe that was why I read the directions so many times.

Finally, after about three hours, I got the job done.  I like the way the blinds look in my window.  I’m proud of myself for figuring out how to do this.  And now I’m thinking the other two windows in my studio would look really good if they had the same blinds too.

Maybe when I go into town to the Dept. of Motor Vehicles to get a new Hawaiian driver’s license, I’ll stop at the hardware store to see if they have the blinds I need.

Living in paradise, everyday is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

