Muscular Writing

I get a lot of WRITERS DIGEST ads in my mailbox and I find them fascinating.  Usually they are so well written, they hook me in.  A recent one taunted me to spend my money to “put more muscle into your writing”  As their ads usually do, it got me to thinking.  Do I really want muscular writing?  Do I want more force and power behind my poetry? 

My answer is NO.  I don’t want more muscle.  I don’t want strong, forceful writing.  I want the quiet, subtle writing which lets the reader stumble upon their own meaning.  I want, expect my reader to bring something to the writing and if they discover something in the reading, something of their own, then my writing is a success.

What makes for successful writing for you? 

One thought on “Muscular Writing

Leave a Reply

