What do you believe?

The wizard leaned on his staff, standing outside of the rocky cave.
“What do you believe in?” he asked.

I thought.
I thought about Santa Claus,
the Easter Bunny, the Tooth Fairy.
I thought about a curious monkey
who painted hospital walls
and an elephant who hatched and egg.
I thought of a bull who sat and smelled flowers
and a ghost who wanted friends.
And I realized that the beauty of childhood
is that we can believe in so many things.
Life can be fun, and fair
but as an adult all the fun gets wiped out
when the only thing
to believe in
is myself.

Leave a Reply

