March 1,2012

Sometimes I just can’t sleep.  No big deal.  I wake up in the middle of the night and my body just won’t quiet to go back to sleep.  My mind is going at hype speed.  I’m thinking of all the things I did the day before and how I could have done them better.  My body says, I want to stretch, I want to move, I want to exercise.

I’ve had these same feelings on airplanes.  No matter how I turn, I can’t get comfortable.  Boy, are those long flights. 

Usually the best thing for me to do is to get up and to write.  Hammering out words is the one thing that can help my body to settle.  If I write about all the coulda, woulda, shouldas–then I can engagemy brain in something that tires me out enough to go back to sleep.

Do you ever have these kinds of feelings?  When I was in college, I learned that these mind trips are called behavior rehearsal.  Your mind practices what it is going to say or do.  You get to play, or act out in your mind the scene  you anticipate giving you delight or difficulty.  It is a way to practice.

In a way I do that with my writing.  I practice writing scenes and dialog before I need it for the story I’m writing.

Leave a Reply

